Powers of PCS Officer | Roles, Responsibilities, and Career

Powers of PCS Officer in the Various States | List of Responsibilities, Roles, Career, Facilities, Rank, and Status of PCS Officer

Hello Civil Services Aspirants, in this article we are gonna share with you all the Powers of PCS Officer and the Key Differences between the roles of IAS and PCS officers. 

PCS or Provincial Civil Service is the administrative civil service under Group A and Group B of the state service of the executive branch of various state governments.

On the other IAS officers are given the administrative command to control the whole district and also to represent the Government of India at the international level in bilateral and multilateral negotiations.

PCS Officers are directly under the control of State Governments whereas IAS Officers are under the control of the Government of India. The recruitment of PCS officers is done by the State Civil Services examination while IAS Officers are recruited through UPSC Exam.

There are many other queries going on in the mind of applicants who are working hard to serve in the state civil administration. So we are going to show you the complete role and responsibilities of a PCS Officer.

Facilities, Rank, and Powers of PCS Officer

PCS officers hold various job positions at the sub-divisional, district, divisional, and state-level from conducting revenue administration and maintenance of law and order. As PCS Officer comes under the control of State Govt, so they are appointed by the Governor of the state.

IAS Officers usually work under the state government whose cadre is allotted to them, but they actually are appointed by the President of India.

#1 Responsibilities and Roles of PCS Officer

  • One of the important functions is to collect land revenue and function as courts in matters of revenue and crime, to maintain law and order, to implement Union and State Government policies at the grass-root level when posted at field positions i.e. as sub-divisional magistrate, additional city magistrate, city magistrate, additional district magistrate, and additional divisional commissioner.
  • To act as the agent of the govt on the field, i.e. to act as the intermediate between people and the state government.
  • To handle the administration and daily proceedings of the state government, including formulation and implementation of policy in consultation with the minister-in-charge, additional chief/principal secretary, and secretary of the relevant department.

The aspirants who secure top ranks in the state civil services exam are granted important posts like:

  • Deputy superintendent of police
  • Deputy collector
  • Block development officers
  • Women and child development officer
  • Tehsildar
  • SDM

PCS officers are mainly responsible for the implementation of the various government schemes, making awareness among the masses. They act as facilitators for the government. They usually work at the grass-root level for the upliftment of masses.

#2 Rank-Wise Powers of PCS Officer

  • SDM – To look after the administration/ revenue collection of the sub-district.
  • DSP – To look after the law and order of the allocated region.
  • Asst Labour Commissioner- To look after the implementation of labor laws.
  • BDO – To look after the development activities at the back level.
  • Tehsildar – To look after the maintenance of Tehsil Revenue Record and Revenue Accounts. 
  • Deputy Superintendent Jail – To ensure the safe custody of prisoners confined in the Jail as well as enforcing and maintaining discipline and order among prisoners.

By looking at the responsibilities, roles, and powers of PCS Officer, we can say that PCS officers are aligned with different roles in different states.

They are state government appointees and generally look after development activities at the block level. They mainly coordinate the work at the block level.

#3 Career Growth as PCS Officer

After completing their training, a PCS officer generally serves at the tehsil level as Tehsildar and after more than 10 years of service, they are promoted to Deputy Collector (SDMs).

Further, they are promoted to city magistrate, and later, additional district magistrate. Most districts have two to three posts of ADMs, most common of them being ADM (City), ADM (Finance/Revenue), and ADM (Executive). 

After completion of two decades of service, PCS officers get promoted to the Indian Administrative Service, after confirmation by the Department of Personnel and Training of Government of India and the Union Public Service Commission.

#4 Salary Structure of PCS Officer

powers of pcs officer and salary structure

Some important links that you might find interesting:

Updated: August 17, 2021 — 12:12 PM

The Author

Vacancy Exam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *